top of page

Day of Rest?


Someone working hard

I know that with how hectic our lives can be, it is hard sometimes to take a whole day of rest. We might think that it is impossible to relax and meditate on God, when there is a thousand and three things that need done. I think we need to reflect on how significant the Bible treats taking a day of rest.

First, this is one of the ten laws (The Ten Commandments) that God gave Moses to tell the Israelites. They took this very seriously (look at Exodus 31:14). Think back to when the Israelites were in the desert, in Exodus 16, God provided manna and quail for them. They were only to gather what they could eat each day, except for the sixth day, when they would get what they needed for two days. This was so they wouldn't work on the sabbath.

Second, when God was creating the Earth even He stopped for a day of rest (Genesis 2:2-3). I think this takes it to a whole new level. Not only are we supposed to follow the ten commandments, but we are also to be like Christ. This makes it seen quite serious if you ask me.

 

For me taking Sunday as a day of rest has helped me so much. I know that when Sunday comes that I am not going to do any work. This motivates me to do things that I need to get done, beforehand, without being stressed. It has also helped me to become closer to God, by taking the time I would normally spend working, to be with Him and relax.

I want to challenge you to try a few weeks of taking a day of rest and reflect on the difference it can make in your life.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page